cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will frequently removing the lens on a mirrorless camera damage the camera/lens?

joshep1
Apprentice

I know this is a noob question, but I’m new to ILCs and I’m curious to know if the metal lens mount on the front of mirrorless RF cameras like the R8 will show signs of wear or scratching with extended use? Does it make a difference whether you use L glass with metal mounts or cheaper lenses with plastic mounts? Do people generally keep the lens attached to the camera when they are storing in the camera in a bag?

7 REPLIES 7

Tintype_18
Authority
Authority

Can't answer you question directly but I do keep a lens on my camera. Never know when those Kodak (Canon?) moments will show up.

John
Canon EOS T7; EF-S 18-55mm IS; EF 28-135mm IS; EF 75-300mm; Sigma 150-600mm DG

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

I wouldn't worry about it.  I would be much more concerned as to in what environment you are changing/removing lenses.  e.g. avoid changing lenses in environments where there's great risk of dust or water getting onto the sensor.

As long as you follow best practices when changing lenses, all will be well.

Finally, be sure to always line up the lens to the camera mount correctly.  If it's not aligned and you exert a high-enough force, you could indeed damage the mounts.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

justadude
Rising Star
Rising Star

I just looked at my oldest digital Canon camera body which is 13 years old.  Even though I have newer gear, this is my workhorse for infrared, and it gets a LOT of use, and a LOT of lens changes.  I don't see a single scratch on the lens mount.  While most of my lenses have metal mounts, a few have plastic.  No signs of wear.  I also looked at some of my SLR film bodies that are decades old.  No signs of scratches on the lens mount.