cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R7 good for Arctic wildlife and airshows?

Tvgibson
Apprentice

I just booked my trip of a lifetime to go see polar bears in Churchill in November.  Was looking at the R7 and RF 100-400 lens.  I’m new to mirrorless cameras and definitely not a professional photographer.  Would also like to be able to shoot airshows.  Can I learn to use this by November? Is this a good combo to get? Any other must have starter lenses for “everyday” use? Thanks in advance….I appreciate the feedback from the knowledge I’ve seen in this community 

11 REPLIES 11

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Welcome to the forum:
Much depends on your budget, but for distance work that could function ok.  You will also need a lens with a shorter focal range, because you actually get up close and personal with those bears - not only will you be in a vehicle that the bears will come right up to, but they wander through the township.  For that, I would suggest the RF 24-105mm f/4-7.1 IS STM.

To make the most of your trip, definitely study up on Polar Bear behaviour.  There is some excellent material in the BBC series by David Attenborough on the Artic and some of that deals with Churchill specifically, but you will get a lot more from the experience you have context for bear behaviour - and there is also other wildlife too.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Thank you so much….I really appreciate the information and suggestions 

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

You can easily become fairly accomplished by November. Your best bet is to go to your local zoo and airport.