cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Landscape lens for Canon 80D

Jbeck
Apprentice

Greetings, I’m new to the forum. I’ve been shooting wildlife & landscapes for several years with a Rebel 100; 18-55 & a 75-300 zoom.

Recently I upgraded to a 80D and am looking for recommendations to shoot landscapes. The 80 came with a 18-135.  Research has brought up a variety of suggested lens; Canon 11-16, Canon 10-22 & a Tokina 11-16. I’m looking at used lens & would like to stay under $350. Thank for you feedback.

21 REPLIES 21

justadude
Rising Star

I had owned the 80D for a few years... still own a 60D which is basically the same, just older.  My favorite landscape lens was a relatively inexpensive Sigma 10-20mm made for ASP-C sensors.  I loved it so much I bought the same lens with a Pentax mount as well.  If you want to stick to Canon, they make a 10-22mm EF-S lens, but I do not have any experience with it.

Gary

Digital: Canon R6 Mk ll, R8, RP, 60D, various RF, EF, and Rokinon lenses
Film: (still using) Pentax Spotmatic, Pentax K1000, Pentax K2000, Miranda DR, Zenit 12XP, Kodak Retina Automatic II, Kodak Duaflex III, and various lenses

Gary,

Thanks for the feedback 

Jamie

justadude
Rising Star

I did just look at B&H, and the Sigma 10-20 that I mentioned in my other reply has been discontinued after many years, but I'm sure you could find one used from a reputable dealer.

Gary

Digital: Canon R6 Mk ll, R8, RP, 60D, various RF, EF, and Rokinon lenses
Film: (still using) Pentax Spotmatic, Pentax K1000, Pentax K2000, Miranda DR, Zenit 12XP, Kodak Retina Automatic II, Kodak Duaflex III, and various lenses

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

FWIW, I had theCanon EF-S 10-22mm F3.5-4.5 USM  lens and it is a decent optic, although it was released in 2009.  Another unit would be the Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5–5.6 IS STM, released in 2014, which is the latest EF or EF-S lens released in that range by Canon..

cheers, TREVOR