cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS M6 Mark II - Lens recommendations for Wildlife

Jinxie
Contributor

Looking to buy a new lens for my EOS M6 Mark 2 camera that I have had for 2 years now. I am really getting into wildlife photography. I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations on which one would be the best to buy? I photography a lot of foxes, waterfowl, and birds at the moment. 

I mainly uses these photos as references for my wildlife artwork. 

Appreciate any insight!

Thank you!

17 REPLIES 17

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:
Well, I am a wildlife photographer but I don't have the M6II.   For long telephoto work, which is what we are looking at here, one needs to have the stability of either a tripod or a camera that can be held to the eye when working hand-held for stability.  So, I hope you have the optional external EVF.

That said, much depends on your budget.  I can recommend all sorts of lenses, but if you can't afford them then it's irrelevant.   So, in dollar terms, what IS your budget please?
Also, what do you intend to produce - images for social media, for digital display, for small-medium prints, or very large detailed prints?
Telephoto lenses, especially zoom lenses, tend to get heavy, so do you have any issues carrying fairly heavy camera gear - say up to 2.5kg (5lb)?

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris