cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PROGRAF Pro-300 Adjusting tones in B&W prints does not work! --- Problem solved, reloaded driver!

TkL55
Contributor

Greetings Photo Printer -

I'm new to digital printing (after decades of experience in a wet darkroom).  I recently bought a Pro-300 and have been getting good results in color in black & white.  However I haven't been ablet to get the toning adjustment for B&W prints to work.

I'm using Windows 10.  I am printing a B&W jpeg image.  When printing from Photoshop (CS5), I use the instructions at https://ij.manual.canon/ij/webmanual/ProfessionalPrintLayout/W/1.2/EN/PPL/ppl-202.html.   In the Print dialog I select "Printer Manages Colors" and in Print Settings (the Canon printer settings), I select "Black and White Photo Print", and select the correct glossy media and size (on both printer settings dialog, AND on the front panel of the printer.  When check the "Color/Intensity Manual Adjustment" The Manual Color Adjustment window opens and I can properly select one of the 3 defaults, or set the tone I want with the X,Y sliders. In the printed image, neither the slider settings, nor the tone presets produce any changes in tone at all.  (The printed image retains neutral blacks and grays.)