cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Pixma IP8720 Wireless Connection - Solutions

richbutler1
Apprentice

I am an IT professional and also had some challenges with the IP8720's new wireless setup. Some of this advice may help with other models. 

My understanding is that this model communicates only over the 2.4Ghz wifi bandwidth. As a result, some newer Wifi routers may either be dual band (both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz) In my case, I have a Google Nest Wifi setup. This defaults wifi devices that have 5Ghz to that band. The laptop I used to setup my fancy new Canon printer was on 5Ghz. A known workaround to force a device to 2.4Ghz is to make it join the Google Nest Wifi GUEST network. 

Here's where the fun and trickery begin. In order to get the laptop AND the printer to perform the initial setup using the final PRIMARY wifi SSID (Wifi network's name) and password, you have to trick both devices into joining the GUEST network to force 2.4Ghz and the laptop and printer to play nice with each other.  Here's the important part...you have to TEMPORARILY give your GUEST wifi the exact same SSID(Network name) and password as your PRIMARY network. To do this, it's a few steps.

1) From your mobile phone, Open Google Home App. Go to Wifi. Click gear icon in top right. 

2) Write down both your PRIMARY network name and password for later

3) Tap GUEST Network, Manage; write down your GUEST network and password as they are. Click the back arrow at top left to return to the Primary network screen. Click the gear icon at top right

4) Temporarily rename your PRIMARY network: whatever it's called, delete only the last letter. Same for the password because Google Nest Wifi makes sure that your PRIMARY and GUEST networks don't have the same password. Good practice. Click SAVE. If you need to, write down the new SSID(Network name) and password (with the last characters temporarily removed)

5) Click on Guest Network, Manage