cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PowerShot SX70 HS Auto focus won't work at close up

Reneeandjerry
Contributor

1.  Hi.  I have a Canon PowerShot sx70.  I keep it set to auto mode, because  I'm a beginner.   When I zoom in on something  close, like a bee, etc, the subject  won't focus for me.  If I back out of zoom, subject  is clear.  I've tried toggling  to macro, and still doesn't  work.

2.  Also, at times, the shutter button doesn't  work at all.

Any help is so appreciated.   I get stressed at going into all the settings, so I keep on auto.

6 REPLIES 6

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Almost certainly you are trying to get too close to the subject. Every lens has a minimum focus distance, even in macro mode, and if that distance is breached the camera will not focus properly and if it cannot focus at all it will refuse to take the photo.  You just need to go back a bit and you should find it works OK. 

It should be noted that the minimum focus distance reduces with your focal length and while it is tempting to zoom in to magnify the subject, that pushes that distance further away, thus defeating the objective.  So, if you find you can't get a lock try widening out the zoom

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Reneeandjerry
Contributor

Thank you.  It seemed to work before.   I thought macro was for close up pics?  What does widening  out the lens mean?

@Reneeandjerry wrote:

Thank you.  It seemed to work before.   I thought macro was for close up pics?  What does widening  out the lens mean?

He means zooming out to a shorter focal length.