cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon SX50 consistently out of focus pictures

KSL23232323
Apprentice

I bought the Canon SX50 Power Shot about 4 months ago and have taken at least 8000 photos in that time.  Mostly birds and wild life.  I understand apppeture, Shuter speed and ISO for the most part and typically use the manual option.  The auto mode usually doesn't give me a high enough shutter speed for my subjects.

I am so frustrated with this camera at this point.  I can't believe how poor most of the photos are.  I have the IS set at continous and most photos are taken at the full 1200 mm.

If I try the continous shooting it is slow and clunky.  And doesn't capture what I want.

I realize I am new at this but I am missing something.  I have thought of selling the camera and getting something different but I love not having to change lenses and the nice zoom.

I have attached a couple of untouched images.  None of which are the nice crisp photos I am after and I am definitely unable to print anything (espically if the ISO is too high)IMG_0195.JPGIMG_9404.JPG. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

I had another image I wanted to upload but its too big.  I have no idea how to change its size.

14 REPLIES 14

@KSL23232323 wrote:

Hi TTMartin,

In some cases I know it is the user!   However, in others I have the shutter speed set high enough that I don't think it should be a problem.

One of the photos I wanted to upload here was too large to do so.  The bird and pine needles surrounding him are out of focus. He was high in a pine tree within the branches.  The pine needles were not in the way of focus.  Bright sunny day. Settings:  F/8.0; 1/1600; ISO:3200; 215mm  Any thoughts?

In regards to 'missed focus' - how do I resolve that?  What am I doing wrong.

Thank you.