cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon MF237w Printers have recently started developing issues scanning.

gbyte64
Apprentice

Good day
I work as a Computer/Printer technician at a small computer store. We have been selling the MF237w for easily 5 years now with no issues, and we kept selling them as they were so reliable. But recently, like in the last 2-3 months maybe? We have been starting to get reports from customers that the machine doesn’t want to scan. Usually just restarting the computer or printer would resolve the issue. But now that doesn’t. Even reinstalling the drivers or scanner software alone doesn’t resolve the issue. The MF Scan Utility (Either 1.21 or 1.12) would report an error 155.0.0.0 (Which some have said it’s the USB cable. Tried multiple new USB cables and ones confirmed to be working. Still the same error.) Or the scan software would give an error message saying the document exceeds the scan area and if we want to continue. If we say yes, it either goes back to 155.0.0.0 or it just scans from the glass. And will refuse to even recognize the ADF. Even if you set it to only scan from the ADF, it will just tell you to put paper in the ADF and refuse to recognize it. The ADF works perfectly fine. The machine gives you notification sounds when you place paper in and makes perfect copies. If we try to scan using only Window’s basic scan software via Devices and Printers, the ADF would not be listed and when you click scan, it just instantly crashes. Other times the MF Scan Utility even just refuses to open at all. And just reinstalling the drivers or software, does not fix it.