cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How is the exposure triangle INTERRELATED?

Cad0587
Apprentice

And yes...I have Googled the subject haha. I am just starting out learning about manual mode. I am sooooorta getting it. But when it comes to reading about the exposure triangle on different websites all that's exlpain is aperture, shutter speed, and ISO individually. I get what they are individually. But I want to READ about how they are INTERRELATED. The triangle thing itself isn't clicking with me, I don't want to look at the triangle lol I want it in words. I want to know that if having a large aperture is what is most important to me then this is where I should go to compensate with my shutter speed and ISO. Sometimes when reading what settings someone choose for their picture they say something along the lines of well I decreased this therefore had to increase/decrease this, THAT'S What I want to know. How they work together, how they relate together. Can anyone help out? I don't want a diagram, just words!

5 REPLIES 5

ScottyP
Authority
The apples and oranges thing is why they invented "STOPS".

There is an equivalence between doubling/halving shutter open time and doubling/halving sensor sensitivity, and doubling/halving the opening size made in the lens aperture blades to let light in.

Each of the halving/doubling moves can be swapped between the 3 factors (shutter, aperture, ISO).

Read Bryan Petersen's book "Understanding Exposure". It is 1/2 pictures so itt is a quick but useful read. There are at least 6 possible CORRECT exposures for any shot, but you SELECT the one you want for artistic reasons.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?