cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

gimbal for 7dm2? and a few other questions...

Brandi7dm2
Contributor

Hi all, I'm new to the page. I am still learning, and would appreciate some help. One of my favorite things to do is to video birds in flight. My husband is a master falconer, so i get to be up close and personal with the hawks and falcons. The birds can be flying right at my feet, or a few hundred yards away. I currently am using my 7d m2 with 70-200 2.8 IS USM. hand held it can get pretty jumpy. So i am looking into hand held gimbal mounts. but i am having trouble finding ones that will mount the camera AND support it software wise. Any ideas?

I also would like to obtain a microphone, i am currently looking at the tascam dr-10sg. It seems to suit what i will be doing. Thoughts?

final question, if you were able to video these birds, what would your choice of lens and gimbal? or no gimbal at all? what would you have your settings at as well for the camera?

thank you for your time and help. 

13 REPLIES 13

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I am not sure what you mean or looking for when it comes to a gimbal and software.

If I wanted to shoot video, then my first choice is a video head and a video tripod.  Video tripods lack a center column, which requires the legs to have a wider, more stable stance compared to the typical tripod used for photography.  Some of the best tripods for photographers are built like video tripods without a center column, but use a flat place instead of a video bowl.

I cannot find that Tascam model number.  Similar model numbers are audio recorders, which would still need a microphone to make a compete audio recording system.  This recorded audio would be independent of your recorded video, which creates the problem of combining the two recordings and synchronizing them.  A Rode Wireless Go system might be simpler.

--------------------------------------------------------