cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 11 doesn't recognize EOS Ra

srchilders928
Contributor

I have a new PC with Windows 11, and I installed EOS Utility 3.15 for Windows.  My 7D Mk II connects perfectly through this version of EOS Utility, but EOS Utility does not recognize my EOS Ra.  The computer does see the Ra; it shows up on the Device List as Unknown Canon Digital Camera, whereas the 7D Mk II shows up on the Device List specifically as the 7D Mk II.  I have no problems connecting both cameras on a Mac through its version of EOS Utility.  Anyone have any ideas?  I am new to Windows, so maybe I'm stupid.

11 REPLIES 11

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Is there a particular reason why you have to use the Canon Utility - what are you trying to achieve with the program?

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Yes.  I have to do remote bulb shooting for astrophotography.  There is a Windows app, Backyard EOS, that does the same thing only much better, but it is showing the same exact issues with the EOS Ra (but not 7D Mk II) that EOS Utility does.  I'm assuming that if I can fix one, I will fix the other.

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

It seems like this is something specific to the Ra, and very few of us have that technology.  I would encourage you to contact Canon's help line for some expert help on that one.

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

It could be unique to the Ra.  But, I do not think that is very likely.  What sets the Ra apart is mostly the sensor filtering and the firmware.  USB ports are probably identical to the EOS E.