cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to upgrade to dslr to take horse racing action photos, need recommendations

ilzho
Rising Star

Hello:

For years I have had my Powershot G10 to take general pictures and it has worked well.

I am a huge fan of horse racing and I'm lucky to have a track, very close by. 

I want to be able to 'freeze' a horse and jockey racing among other types of photos.

My G10 cannot take these kind of pictures 'well'.

I am not looking to become a professional as I am not an expert at all, but I would love to have some proper equipment to take realitive good photos of horses racing/Equine. Yes this takes a lot of knowledge and practice/experience. All of which I do not have enough of.

I am looking to stay in the Canon family and would like some recommendations on a good DSLR camera and some lenses.

My budget is about $1500.

Any help and guidance is apprecaited.

Thank you,

David

79 REPLIES 79

@ilzho wrote:

Ok, so I finally made it to the track to see if I can start to practice what i've learned in the manual.

It's official, it's hard :).

You all have given me great advice and there are still 100's of things that I do not understand, but hopefully with more practice it will start to sink in. Trying to stop action and motion blur, is challenging.

Here are a few photos. I used a Canon Rebel Xsi and 100mm lens that my brother let me use for the first time.

Keep playing with your shutter speed, the last two, might be a bit too slow.