cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to upgrade to dslr to take horse racing action photos, need recommendations

ilzho
Rising Star

Hello:

For years I have had my Powershot G10 to take general pictures and it has worked well.

I am a huge fan of horse racing and I'm lucky to have a track, very close by. 

I want to be able to 'freeze' a horse and jockey racing among other types of photos.

My G10 cannot take these kind of pictures 'well'.

I am not looking to become a professional as I am not an expert at all, but I would love to have some proper equipment to take realitive good photos of horses racing/Equine. Yes this takes a lot of knowledge and practice/experience. All of which I do not have enough of.

I am looking to stay in the Canon family and would like some recommendations on a good DSLR camera and some lenses.

My budget is about $1500.

Any help and guidance is apprecaited.

Thank you,

David

79 REPLIES 79

Nice series of shots.

A number of factors lay behind successful AF tracking, not the least of which are focal length, distance to your subject, relative depth of field, and especially how large your subject is in the viewfinder.  Of course, the skill of the photographer plays the biggest role.

If I said, that the 6D isn't up to the challenge, then I overspoke.  They are exceptions to everything.  I still don't think the 6D is very good at AF Servo tracking, though, which does not mean it is impossible for it to do.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@ilzho wrote:

Hello:

For years I have had my Powershot G10 to take general pictures and it has worked well.

I am a huge fan of horse racing and I'm lucky to have a track, very close by. 

I want to be able to 'freeze' a horse and jockey racing among other types of photos.

My G10 cannot take these kind of pictures 'well'.