cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade suggestions from EOS Rebel T8i

natephotos
Contributor

Hello all, currently I’ve been using my Canon T8i for almost two years and I’m happy with it but I know eventually I will want to upgrade. I currently shoot rock climbing outdoors and also indoors(which doesn’t have great lighting at times) I switch between an EF-50mm f1.8, EFS-24 f2.8, and an EF-75-300 f4. I’d eventually like to get into Motorsport photography so I’d like to find something that will be good for both my rock climbing and Motorsport photography; maybe some portrait photography as well. Thanks for any suggestions and advice! 

8 REPLIES 8

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome.

To clarify. Do you want to upgrade the camera or lens or both right now?

If you do plan an upcoming update of any kind we would be helped by knowing a budget value and what that has to covet.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Just camera for now. Maybe a budget of $1500 or so 

For your requirements:
Ability to locate people for rock climbing but also for motor sports in the future, I would recommend the Canon EOS R6 series or the R8.  These have the benefits of Face and Eye detection and tracking, and can lock onto faces in cars, which I suspect might be particularly helpful for motorsport aspirations.  The R6 series (but not the R8) have In Body Image Stabilization, which is good for shooting hand-held and tracking.  All three share the same full-frame sensor that is particularly good in low light.

You can use  your EF lenses on R-series bodies via a Canon EF-RF adapter, and these work extremely well.