cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Triggered Flash beginners question (Canon R6 HELP)

bond606
Apprentice

I’m a super beginner at flash photography - please help me out on some basics here. I recently bought a Canon R6 camera and wanted to use an external/triggered older flash (speedlite 430EX ii) - without any luck.

Is it impossible to trigger my speedlite 430EX ii flash through my Canon R6? – Why?

8 REPLIES 8

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

The R6 can fire your 430EX II on camera but not off camera. Additional hardware is needed for off camera flash.

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D

One simple piece of hardware is simply a flash extension cord.

They said the flash wouldn't work. So I'm trying to figure out how they're trying to use it. It should work on camera though.

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

"wanted to use an external/triggered older flash (speedlite 430EX ii) - without any luck."

looks like the luck ran out using an external/triggered flash, not on camera.

Sounds like an off shoe cord, an optical speedlite transmitter or another flash with master optical transmission capabilities is needed.

-Demetrius

normadel
Authority
Authority

It sounds like you need an off-camera flash cord to use the flash off-camera. Canon's is the OC-E3. There are aftermarket equivalents from Vello, Neewer and more that cost significantly less.

https://www.usa.canon.com/shop/p/off-shoe-camera-cord-oc-e3?color=Black&type=New

amfoto1
Authority

The R6 alone cannot fire the flash off-camera... however, there are accessories that can make it possible.

First, I assume your flash is NOT radio controlled and triggered. AFAIK, there was no 430EX II that was radio triggered, but I may be wrong. (430EX III-RT is radio triggered.)