cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time to upgrade, but there are so many good cameras... (R8 vs R vs R6)

goudd
Apprentice

Hi all,

I have been enjoying photography more and more over the last few years and I am thinking it is time to upgrade. I spend a lot of time hiking, offroading, and taking some water sports photography. I really enjoy adventure photgraphy and this is a hobby to me, but I want to upgrade from my Canon t4i. I want to stick to Canon as I have a 70-300mm EF 4-5.6 II USM lens I like, EF 16-35mm F4L, and hope to find a second hand EF 24-70 F2.8L II lens soon.

I was looking at the Canon eos R (30MP), R8 (24MP), and R6 (20MP) for a body upgrade. I am primarily a landscape photographer with sports photography (for fun) making up 10-20% of my still shots and a very small portion being video. I understand that coming from the Rebel T4i any of these are going to be a great upgrade, but I'm looking for help trying to figure out which body may suit my style of photography a bit better.

Some common arguments seem to be the R has an older sensor and not as good autofocus plus heavily cropped video, but has a nice amount of MP plus good bang for buck. R8 has a newer sensor/processor, solid video capabilites, but has a tiny battery and a poor control setup. The R6 has dual card slots, a bigger battery, IBIS, solid ergonomics and controls, but is older and has an older sensor and less pixels. Hoping to find some real world experience and get pointed in the right direction. Trying to keep the budget under control when finding bodies secondhand so looking at these 3 mirrorless full frame cameras.

2 REPLIES 2

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,

Welcome to the community. We will do our best to help.  You mentioned, "keep the budget under control".