cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T3 to 70D

jdundas
Contributor

Hello, thanks in advance for your input if you decide to read and reply. 

I currently have a rebel t3, an EFS 18-55mm 4.5, and an EFS 55-250mm lense. It has been a great first DSLR, but I feel greatly held back by the setup. I have been shooting for 4 years now and have come a long way and feel that an upgrade in either lenses or a body (OR BOTH) would improve my photos. I am getting into timelapse and hyperlapse photography as well as some filming too. I am looking for crisper, higher quality images and I just feel like the T3 is holding me back of my potential. 

Would going from the T3 to a 70D be a nice upgrade? I also need this to be affordable. I figured I could sell my in perfect condition T3 for 150-200 and buy a referbished or new 70D for 700-800. Or, is would there be a different body you guys would recommend? Would it even make sense to sell the lenses too and start fresh with new lenses?

I appreciate your inpute,

Jeff

28 REPLIES 28

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

My advice is to never compromise on buying what you really want.  You will never be fully satisfied with your purchases, if you do compromise.  This holds true for camera bodies, lenses, and probably everything else in life, too.  Save your money, and purchase what you really want.  Never buy something just to have something similar to what you really want.

I suggest taking a look at the new 80D, instead of the 70D.  It seems to be a much better camera, particularly for shooting video because it offers full time AF with certain lenses.  The 80D also has a better AF than the 70D, is generally a better camera, across the board.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

@jdundas wrote:

Hello, thanks in advance for your input if you decide to read and reply.