cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R6MK2 or R5 -- same price. Which do you choose?

lumen
Apprentice

Hey everyone.

I've got the chance to buy either one right now. The R6 mk2 is stock from the box and is $1600.

The R5 is $1500 with less than 5000 clicks on it. Comes with RF/EF adapter and comes with a 128 gb CF Express card.

Of course the classic answer as to which one to get is "it depends" so I'll give you a little background on me.

I am a professional video producer for a big corporation. However this camera is not for work. This is for hobby use and potentially side work. Video is a nice component but I'm really buying this as a still camera first. However I love the ability to shoot video with it.

One of the selling points to me with the R5 is the 45 mp images it shoots. One of the things I'm looking to get this camera for is a series of lighthouse images. My wife and I got married at a light house so I thought rather than buying large images I could go and and grab them myself.

I'm also looking to use this recreationally for my hobbies and getting killer footage to make fun IG and YouTube videos with.

I'm no stranger to video and still cameras but am admittedly not quite up on the tech. At my professional job we have a full set of canon sumire primes and I've always enjoyed used Canon cameras like the 5D and C300.

Hopefully this provides a decent amount of background and can help advise.

Thanks everyone!

3 REPLIES 3

justadude
Rising Star
Rising Star

As an owner of the R6m2 since November, all I can say is that I really love this camera.  I do not find any faults with it at all, and so far it has proven over and over to be a giant step forward over the RP that was my main camera.  The new focus system is insanely fast (great for when I shoot sports).  The low noise at high ISO for nighttime photography is excellent.  Everyday shooting is simply nice (close to perfect - and again, no complaints).