cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Overlay photograph in viewfinder

EmHayKayTee
Apprentice

Does anyone else try to recreate old photos (family or historical)? I’d love to be able to overlay an old photo in my viewfinder at say 50% transparency. It would make it so much easier to compose the new picture.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

melankaya
Contributor

Noob here, but if you have a ninja V you can use the onion skin feature in the monitor.... 
Another completely unrelated option could be using your phone, theres an align feature if you are in reels on instagram that also allows you to overlay. G'luck!

View solution in original post

jaewoosong
Rising Star
Rising Star

If you have a R series with digital viewfinder, you can kinda get away with this.  this will work with DSLR if shooting with live view but only mirrorless with digital viewfinder will display playback in viewfinder.

1. take picture of the old photograph you want to emulate with camera.  this will be the first picture in your camera.
  2. setup the background and people as close as you can, get the shot ready in your viewfinder
  3. once people are posed, press the playback button and you'll see the original pic in your viewfinder/back screen via live view to see as reference.
  4. press shutter slightly to exit playback and you'll now see the live view.
  5. repeat playback/half shutter to pose the people.
  6. once pose is ready, take the actual picture.

-jaewoo

Rebel XT, 7D, 5Dm3, 5DmIV (current), EOS R, EOS R5 (current)

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

The feature you're looking for is called onion skin.  I don't know of any camera that supports this, but some monitors do.  As melankaya pointed out, the Ninja V has this: search for "Atomos Monitoring Features - Frame Grab and Onion Skin".

8 REPLIES 8

Tronhard
Elite
Elite