cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only Menus Display on Screen on Mark IV

hexonxonx
Contributor

I am brand new to this camera and I just got the camera today and unfortunately I left the manual at my house that I moved from today so I don't have one.

How do I get the picture that I want to shoot to display on the screen. Right now it stays dark unless I display the menu or other settings.

Also, no matter what SD card I try in this camera it says no card in camera so I can't even format it. It's just not seeing it. I can't format it on my computer because I have a Mac.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend
There are many examples on this forum where microSD cards in adapters don’t always work. Try a full size SD card to eliminate that variable.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Go to Canon's website and download the manual: HERE If you have specific questions after that, feel free to come back with them.  From what you say I suspect you are talking about LIVE VIEW MODE.  Check the manual for that.

It is a good idea to get used to using the viewfinder, rather than the LCD at the back to shoot with, as putting the VF to your eye gives you a third point of support (that's why tripods have 3 legs, after all).

How_to_hold_a_camera.jpg

You should never format a card for a camera with a computer.  THe format could be different and then the camera will not recognize the card.  Always format the card in the camera.

@hexonxonx wrote:

I am brand new to this camera and I just got the camera today and unfortunately I left the manual at my house that I moved from today so I don't have one.

How do I get the picture that I want to shoot to display on the screen. Right now it stays dark unless I display the menu or other settings.