cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need recommendations for beginner camera and lens for bird photography

keenanbare
Apprentice

I'm totally new to photography and want to get a camera that I can use mostly for bird photography and for taking pictures during duck hunting of me, my dad, the birds we harvest, pictures of that sort. I may also dabble in some short video and casual pictures with friends, but would mostly be using the camera for bird photography and taking pictures during hunting.

I just recently purchased the Canon M50 Mark II, but am thinking about returning it. I have recently read some forums that it may not work well with telephoto lenses due to it's small/fragile size and build. Also, it seems that Canon is going away from the EF-M mount and towards the RF mount. I've read some forums that have recommended the R10 and R7, and that's currently what I have my eye on. I want something that I can grow into and with.

My price range is flexible, but would say that the upper limit is $2,000 (camera and lens included). Would be willing to go a bit higher if it's worth it.

58 REPLIES 58

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,

With your budget in mind and the type of photography you are describing, a body with an APS-C sensor might work well for you.

I just want to confirm the following.  Some of the wildlife you'll be shooting will be from a blind at substantial distance?  Or are you just going to be capturing memories of the hunt?  I'm asking because lens recommendations might vary depending on the distance of your subjects.

These recommendations may change based on your answers.  The bodys I would recommend are the R50, R10 and R7.  A good starter lens for shooting wildlife on a mirrorless body is the RF100-400.