cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T7 Need Help with Outdoor Night time sports pictures

LoveFall
Contributor

I just purchased a Cannon EOS Rebel T7.  I want to take night time pictures, outside, at sporting events.  There is some light on poles.  My pictures are coming out too dark.  I'm new to photography.  What is the best recommended settings to use for these pictures?  Thank you.

10 REPLIES 10

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

If you are shooting sports then you probably want a fast shutter speed to stop action.

However, outdoors at night is a low light situation.

The first thing to try is set the camera to Program and see if it can take an image. Program will try to find a setting that can take a properly exposed image. It doesn't look for preferences like a certain shutter speed, aperture or ISO setting; it just tries to get a properly exposed image. If Program won't allow an image to be taken then there just isn't enough light.

If you can get an image make note of the shutter speed. Switch to Tv mode. Then start increasing shutter speed. Camera will increase ISO and open lens aperture until camera no longer allows an image to be taken. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Thank you John.  I will try this.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I have a much more simple suggestion. Use Av mode and set the lens wide open (a small number). This lets the camera select the fastest SS it can for proper exposure. Select auto ISO and set an upper and lower limit or not if you just want to get the max ability out of the T7. But keep in mind as ISO goes up noise also goes up but sometimes just getting the picture is the most important thing.

Every camera/lens combo has its limits. The limits of the T7 and kit supplied lens are on the lower end so you will quickly find that out. But it just might be enough and that's all that matters.