cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS M50 Mark II Focus Help & Dark Eyes

jlc517
Contributor

I just recently purchased a Canon M50 Mark II and could really use some tips. I love photography, and wanted to purchase a camera to take photos of my babies, rather than just use my iPhone. I am a beginner though, so I am having difficult with focusing. It seems the photos never look crisp, especially when taken indoors. I’m experimenting with settings, rather than using the auto mode 

Also, it seems that everyone’s eyes always look black. Half my family has blue eyes, and they always look black. Do you know what I could be doing wrong?

I really appreciate all of the advice you can provide! Thank you so much! 

30 REPLIES 30

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

My first guess with no further info is your shots are underexposed. Probably because you shoot indoors under low light levels with a slow lens. The standard kit lens the M50 ships with is the EF-M 15-45mm f/3.5-6.3 IS STM. it would be considered a slow lens for indoor shooting. 

An example and/or exactly how you are using the M50 Mk II would be of great help.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

IMG_7856.jpeg

IMG_7854.jpeg

IMG_7855.jpeg

Thank you so much for your thoughts. Do you have a suggestion of a different lens to purchase? I am currently only using the lens that came with the camera. I used these settings as a guide, and here a pics I took. Thank you again! 

jlc517.

A couple of suggestions: These are just my ideas.

1) If your subject is stationary, put your camera in Av, or aperture priority mode. You select your aperture, and your camera will select the shutter speed. You can experiment with taking the same picture with different apertures and see which you like best. It's said that most lenses work best when using apertures between f/5.6 and f/8.

f/4 ha a pretty small depth of field.