cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 2000D Recommendations for rugby photos under artificial light

Taryn1
Apprentice
  • I desperately need help I purchased a cannon eos 2000d as my first camera for my son who plays rugby so that I could try and get some good sports shots , during the day my camera had been working fine but I have started trying to use it in the evening under false lights and nearly all photos are blurry. I have googled and tried changing the shutter speed I’m still learning but getting really frustrated this happens with both lenses any help literally for a beginner I don’t know anything about cameras Sorry and thank you in advance 
5 REPLIES 5

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

What specific lenses do you have? The front of the lens typically has all the revelant information.

Blurry images could be the result of the camera not getting enough light. And based upon what mode you're in, too slow of a shutter speed may be used.  However, even if you use Shutter Priority (Tv) mode, depending upon the lens you have, it may not be letting in much light during the evening games.  And thus the camera's ISO will need to be raised which will lead to noise.

Capturing photos in any low-light environment can be very challenging.  You will typically want a lens capable of at least f/2.8.  More modern cameras can also be very beneficial in that even at higher ISO values, the amount of noise will be less than older cameras using the same values.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

@Taryn1 wrote: