cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon R6 freezing issues - replace battery is the only known fix.

Nicholsandco
Contributor

So I purchased my Canon R6 in November 2021 and had zero issues with it freezing up. Never even heard of this issue until a month ago. In April 2023 I attended Shutterfest in STL and Canon was there as an event sponsor and was offering cleaning and basic repairs to CPS members. I’m a Gold member and professional photographer shooting Canon over 25+ years.

I dropped off my camera to be checked out, have the sensor cleaned AND asked by the CPS camera check in person if I wanted to have my firmware updated I replied yes. Good to go!

I returned a few hours later and got my camera back. With in a few hours I started shooting with it and it froze up (first time). I figured it was weird since it never happened before so I just turned it off and took out battery. Turn it back on and it worked fine. I figured it was a first time fluke.

Since that day it (random freezing) has been happening on every shoot I do sometimes once sometimes multiple times during the shoot. I am very disappointed this has happened to my R6, if I had known about the issue I would have never updated my firmware that day.

I’m not sure what firmware I was using - How can I discover my previous firmware before upgrading it? How to a revert back to that firmware version? I want to see if downgrading it to previous version fixes the issue since I’ve never had it prior to Shutterfest.

Before anyone asks me: I’ve since updated to 1.8.1 use canon batteries + off brand batteries (both styles freeze up), canon vertical grip and multiple cards. Also different lenses old EF and new RF lenses. Happens on all those products. I just ordered a new R6 body as a backup and now considering sending that one back until this known issue can be fixed. 😞  Help me Canon!

31 REPLIES 31

Stephen