cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EOS R7 with RF lens Wonky focus

4Ruth
Apprentice

Hello, I can’t figure out why my focus is so off centered. I am an amateur photographer. I have been taking pictures of my daughter’s dance team on a football field in the evenings. They have turned out ok in the past with the zoom lens that came with my kit (EOS R7). Now I have upgraded to a Canon RF 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM Lens. I have finally (mostly?) learned how to manually shoot and the pictures below are at ISO800, F4.0, 1/500, at 177-200mm. Huge learning curve for me because the girls dance so they are frequently moving quickly in low lighting, and at a great distance from me sitting up in the stands. Also, there are so many settings on the camera, it is quite overwhelming.

Previously my focus has done what I want it to do for the most part. Now it’s grabbing the person in the center front bottom of my view – not the center of my picture? I want it to grab and focus on the center of the viewfinder – and possibly the dancers in the rows immediately in front of and behind that center focus. Why is it grabbing that individual’s head so very far in front of them in the very, very bottom of my view? Pictures and settings below. Thank you in advance for your help!

These are the current settings:

AF operation SERVO

AF area Around

Subject tracking ON

Subject to detect: People

Eye detection: Enabled

Switching tracked subjects: 1

Servo AF

Case 2 Continue to track subjects, ignoring possible obstacles

One-Shot AF release prior

Preview AF disabled

Lens drive when AF impossible ON

AF beam OFF

Touch and drag AF settings OFF

Limit AF Areas Spot AF – I have the everything checked except the numbers 1,2,3, meaning I have spot, point, expand, around, and whole checked

Sensitivity AF pt select 1

Orientation linked AF point SAME

MF peaking settings OFF

Focus guide OFF

Electronic full time MF OFF

Lens electronic MF OFF