cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I remote-trigger an EOS Rebel XTi via an iPad?

villyguy
Contributor

I want to set up a digital camera near the bird feeder on a tree near our house and be able to trigger the camera from within our house when we see a bird we want to photograph. I am told that with the right camera, I can get an app that would let me accomplish this using my iPad.

I have a Canon Digital Rebel XTi camera (DS126151). Will this camera work in such an arrangement? If so, what app would I need?

I am a newbie, so please bear that in mind if you reply (smile). Thanks in advance for any advice.

11 REPLIES 11

stevet1
Whiz
Whiz

villyguy,

Your XTi doesn't have Wi-fi, so it looks like you have two options:

1) Use an Eye-fi SD card. The wi-fi function is built into the SD me ory card. I don't think I would recommend this. The technology is very old and is no longer supported. Every thing I've read about it was pretty bad.

2) A wired remote shutter release cable. You can do a Google search for that term: "Wired shutter release cable for the Canon XTi"

One of the results you will get is this: 

Pixel TW-283 E3 Wireless Shutter Release Cable Wired Remote Control Compatible Compatible for Canon XT XTi XS XSi T1i

Steve Thomas

Thanks for the great advice. Because I like the ability to use the setup with the iPad, I will probably get a camera with Wi-Fi . Can you suggest a low cost camera that would meet my need? I’d probably keep my eye out for a deal on a used one.

With a Wi-Fi camera, what app would help with the iPad/camera setup I seek?

villyguy,

Before anyone could offer a suggestion about what kind of camera to buy, they would first need to know how much money you want to spend.

The best suggestion I can make is that you visit someplace that sells cameras like a Walmart or a Target, or a Best Buy, or even a camera store if you have one nearby.