cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera Recommendations for Professional Photography

annav
Apprentice

Hi everyone! 

I am currently starting out, getting into professional photography! I have some experience from school, personal photography projects, and an internship, but so far I have only borrowed/rented camera equipment, and I am looking to buy my own camera and equipment! I've got some ideas of what I am looking for, however, I have found it slightly overwhelming to look through all the different types of camera equipment, so I thought I would start here. I'm planning to do a combination of sports, senior/family photography, children and maybe some weddings, but I'd also like something versatile, so I could also do concert photography, as that is something I want to try and hopefully do in the future! I'd prefer a mirrorless camera, but I am open to any suggestions! Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

If you plan to get paid for photography work, one strong recommendation I'd have is to have a camera with dual card slots (to give some extra protection).  These tend to be costlier models such as the EOS R6 II or EOS R5 to name a couple.

For concert photography, adding your own lighting is most likely not possible/allowed, so you'll want to ensure your lens can let in as much light as possible.  Depending upon your distance to your subjects, look at the RF 24-70mm f/2.8L or RF 70-200mm f/2.8L.  These lenses are workhorses and would be good to have for other types of work.

While it wouldn't be a zoom, look at the RF 135mm f/1.8L.  That would be a very good portait lens and would also do extremely well in very low light situations.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

rs-eos
Elite
Elite