cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D MK III vs 5DS for the wildlife photographer

dcwidman
Apprentice

I am a wildlife photographer. I have the 5D MKII which I've used since it came out (also the EF 400 DO II). I am ready to upgrade the camera but not sure which upgrade is best. I like the idea of the 5DS because of the large file size and ability to severely crop. This would enable me to get the fine detail of feathers on small birds at distances of 30-50 feet. However, most of my shooting is hand held. So I am concerned about the 5DS sensitivity to shake. I am also shooting in woods often where light is not great. So I am thinking that maybe the 5D MK III might be the better choice. 

Any adivce?

2 REPLIES 2

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

There are a few other things to consider and, if I were you, I'd be considering the 7D II.

When you shoot wildlife and particularly "birds in flight", the camera is typically in "continuous" burst mode (so you press the shutter and the camera goes click-click-click rapidly capturing many frames.  As you review the frames, you'll find many are rejects but, with enough frames captured, hopefully one is not just usable... but a great shot.

You cannot control the actions of the subject -- rapid bursting of shots improves your odds.

The 5Ds images are so large that the buffer fills quickly and you'll only get a few shots before it's full.  The 5D III images are smaller and it takes longer to fill the buffer.  With a fast CF card, you may get 15 RAW images before the buffer is full.

The 5D III has a pixel size of 6.25µm squaree.  This larger pixel size gives the camera more sensitivity to low light and the 5D III can shoot at higher ISO and have lower noise than the 5Ds or 7D II