cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rf 55-210 mm - speck in lens

JakobeFoster08
Apprentice

how do i take apart my rf 55-210 mm lens, i’m somewhat new to photography and there’s a speck on the inside of my lens 

7 REPLIES 7

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

The short answer is DO NOT!   
The optics and electronics of a lens are built in a clean room that is highly protected from both static electricity and dust and the lens elements are very, very precisely aligned.  DIY repairs will inevitably result in the lens going to a technician to sort out the resulting mess and will not be covered by any warranty.   
Getting a spec of dust inside a non-environmentally protected lens, especially one that extends to zoom in and out, is perfectly normal and should not impact your images, because the innards  of the lens are well inside the minimum focusing distance and thus invisible to the lens.
What will appear on your images is dust on the image sensor, and you can reduce the risk of that by a couple of things:
1. Turn OFF the camera if changing lenses. Digital sensors are charged electrically when the camera is turned on, and left open to the world will attract dust.
2. When doing so, point the camera face downwards to avoid dust falling into the camera body.
3. If you are storing the camera without a lens attached, always replace the body cap that covers the lens mount and keep that free of dust.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Just because you can see the "speck" inside the lens does not indicate it will show up in any photo. Dust and such are generally out of focus (OOF).