cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The difference between DSLR and Mirrorless, Help please

Cas85
Apprentice

Hi there I am fairly new to learning more about photography, however I have been taking photos for over 20 years. I have a canon eos rebel T5 and recently bought a canon FD NFD 800 mm f 5.6 L Ultra. Which I am defeated to find does not fit my camera. I asked a local photographer what camera I would need. She said a Canon Full Frame. However she’s a Nikon girly and can’t give more info….Can anyone please help guide me on which camera to buy that will heighten my photography of nature in Alaska please.  Also can someone explain the difference between DSLR and mirror less ? Just needing a nice camera to fit lens I paid way too much for. Thanks! 

11 REPLIES 11

normadel
Authority
Authority

A Canon FD lens fits Canon manual-focus film cameras. That's where the term "full-frame" comes from . . . a 24x36mm film frame, and a digital camera with a 24x36mm sensor size.

I'm confused about the lens you bought. The lens model name doesn't make sense.

1. "Ultra" is, sounds like short for Ultrasonic, one of Canon's autofocusing types.  Not a manual-focus lens. So there isn't an FD autofocus lens. 

2.  "NFD" (New FD) is a reference to second generation FD lenses.  The term is not part of a lens name.

3.  "L" lenses are the top-level Canon lenses. There were/are  "L" lenses in FD mounts and EF mounts.

4. Canon DSLR autofocus lenses are EF and EF-S mounts.  The EF-S mount is for Canon crop-sensor (APS-C) bodies ONLY, like your Rebel T5.  They ONLY fit crop-sensor bodies.

EF lenses are the original mounts for Canon EOS autofocus cameras, starting with EOS film cameras. An EF lens fits ALL EOS cameras made since 1987, film and digital.

So first, let's clear up what your lens is. It's exact name is on it, on the body of it and/or around the front of the lens.  Sounds like a mixup all over.