cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scuffed lens

John_SD
Whiz

I am an outdoor photographer and I am hard on gear. I don't baby my equipment or clean my camera and lens after each shooting day. There is visible dust collecting along the outside of the EVF window. My lenses and camera body are not in pristine condition, often showing light grit in the ridges and knurls of the various rings and dials. I clean my gear maybe once or twice a year. I tell myself that I must change my ways, but so far I haven't. I suppose it is a testament to Canon build quality that it can take this kind of abuse and still function flawlessly. 

Yesterday, I took a tumble, the first time in years, as I was taking photos in the backcountry. I was doing some light boulder scrambling and came across a spider, which I was shooting. I slipped and fell forward and scuffed the front of my lens. I practice cowboy medicine -- clean the wound with water, rub some dirt in it, and keep on shooting. The scuff is visible, about the size of your index fingernail, and it doesn't come out with light buffing. Oddly enough, I see no sign of the scuff in my images after the damage. Is it worth taking it in for polishing, or just forget about it? Fortunately, this was the cheap kit lens, which retails for around $400. It's about 3 years old. 

Here are some photos after the scuff, which is well off center, and about 1/2" from the right edge as I face the lens. 

scuff4.jpgscuff3.jpgscuff2.jpgscuff1.jpg

15 REPLIES 15

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

If its just cosmetic, then its a judgment call.   I would think a scuff might show up under certain lighting conditions as flare or glare?  Maybe not.  

You can always send to Canon for evaluation or use this as an excuse to upgrade.  This might also be a good time to consider clear lens filters moving forward or CarePaks.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA