cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need a beginner lens recommendation for R8!

krick
Apprentice

I received an R8 as a gift, however I'm a complete beginner in photography. It came with the body only and I need a new lens to test it out with. My budgets around 500 USD (might go a bit higher if I really need to). I want to take a portraits, travel pics (pics of mountains, pics of people standing in front of mountains lol), and occassionally some photos at night as well of friends & family. I know that's a lot and maybe one lens might not be able to hande all that but any recommendations? Additionally, will it be wise to buy a flash as well? Thank you!

5 REPLIES 5

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:
Given your description, you need a lens with an RF designation (not RF-S they are not for your camera type) and the best for your situation and budget would be the RF 24-105 IS STM lens.  The range is a good all round unit that will cover much of what you describe.  You can get one of these from Canon via this link for $399.99
https://www.usa.canon.com/shop/p/rf24-105mm-f4-7-1-is-stm.

Initially, I would not recommend getting a flash - learn to use the camera in available light, but with the $100 you have left in your budget you should consider a couple of full-size SD card - around 64MP and choose Lexar or SanDisk are good, from a reputable camera store (stay away from Amazon and box stores for them), and a spare battery.

The best thing you can also do is to download the User Guide for your camera and make yourself familiar with the controls: You can get that guide here: c013.pdf (start.canon)

Also, I would strongly suggest checking out the following on You Tube:

Feel free to come back to us with any questions you may have.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;