cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lens Life Span?

elguapo
Apprentice

Hello,

I bought 2 entry level lenses for a T1i Rebel back in 2009.  A 18-55mm and a 55-250mm (both image stabilizer lenses).

Im still a novice and only use a camera for taking family and vacation photos.  I want to upgrade to a T6i or T7i.  

My question is should I buy new lenses seeing as though my current ones are almost 10 years old?

El

3 REPLIES 3

DanSF
Contributor

It depends on whether your old lenses went through lots of rough handling but it seems that family and vacation photo taking is not that rough!  So I think you can keep your existing lenses as long as they work fine.

I guess you also to know if you can get a new camera with a kit lens for some extra money & discount. Some people may do that to get a spare, but it may be wasted money if your old ones are fine.

Since your old ones are entry level lenses, it may be OK to upgrade to a better version of what you have, but since you're still a novice, it may not be necessary and you can also save money by using the old ones. 

Maybe it will be OK to just buy the new camera body only, use your old lens and consider getting a different lens from what you have. So don't upgrade with the same kind but maybe get a longer zoom, if you like that.

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

If you take good care of lenses... they last for years and years.  (Typically the one component on a camera which is likely to wear out is the mechanical shutter (with enough use).  

Lenses usually last much longer (although focus motors and aperture blades can sometimes have problems.)

Canon's "L" series lenses are their highest quality lenses ... the build quality is superb and those lenses generally last a lifetime.  (L series lenses are fairly pricey... most of them are more than $1000).