cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the EF lens series done?

fujoncama
Apprentice

All the rumors say Canon's going all in on their RF mount, releasing up to 16(!) RF lenses in 2021. I couldn't find a single rumored new EF lens.

I get that the EF mount has been around forever but it would be disappointing to see it go out with a whimper leaving a ton of EF users in the dust, especially since Canon was still releasing new EF camera bodies relatively recently. It's especially disappointing seeing the lack of nano USM upgrades to the EF line.

I guess I'm just salty because I'm a new photographer and got started with the EF-S mount last Christmas before I knew anything. All I really want is a 17-55mm f2.8 nano USM or even STM since I do a lot of home video. Oh well, thanks for reading my rant.

7 REPLIES 7

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:
I understand you frustration but, to be honest, and with all due respect, this is a perfect example of the necessity of doing your research  before making a purchase.  Had you come to this site before purchasing and outlined what you need, you would have got good advice from the large number of knowledgeable people here.  We would almost certainly have recommended getting an R-series body, especially for the benefits they offer for videography, but it is what it is...

Canon have made it clear for some time that they are not producing any new EF, EF-S and EF-M lenses, and have been steadily withdrawing those types from their lens lineup.  This has  been well documented so they have not, as you put it, 'left a ton of EF users in the dust'.  I am not sure where you got the idea that Canon has released new camera bodies recently.  The last one, the T8i, was released over three years ago, which in this business is not recently.

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"