cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel SL3 & Tamron 18-270mm Automatic Settings don't work beyond 100mm

Eric_Dunn
Apprentice

I'm new to still photography so please bear with me.

I bought a Rebel SL3 a few weeks ago and have been enjoying it. This past week I picked up a Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Aspherical Di II VC IF LD APS-C Lens for Canon EF-S Mount and spent a good chunk of yesterday taking pictures with it.

When I got home I found that 95% of them were seriously under-exposed. Today I went out to test things and what I found is that any time I zoom past 100mm the automatic settings on the camera no longer work.

In Av mode, (and zoomed past 100) the shutter speed is ALWAYS set to 1/4000. In Tv mode, the aperture is ALWAYS set to F/40 (which the lens doesn't even do). Even the AUTO-ISO does not work, it is ALWAYS set to 100.

I even tried the A+ fully automatic mode ... same problem.

Manual everything seems to be the only option when zooming beyond 100mm, but everything works fine when not zoomed beyond 100mm.

I don't know if this is normal, or if it's something wrong with the camera, or something wrong with the lens. This is the only lens a have that zooms in that far, so I don't know what is normal.

I played around with the metering modes and had the same issue with all four modes.

I appreciate any thoughts anyone might have on this.

Thanks, Eric

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

If I read correctly you are saying that the parameters you set below 100mm setting suddenly change to the values you posted when you zoom past 100mm?

If so, sounds like a lens communication problem. Maybe a fault in the ribbon cable in the lens. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend