cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS M50 Lens Recommendations

mwalters
Apprentice

Hello, I’m new to photography and have hopes of making a future out of it one day so I just have some questions and figured this community could help me!

So I currently have the Canon eos m50 and I’m looking to invest in a few more lenses which are the EF 50mm f1.2 and the EF 70-200mm f2.8. I’m sure at some point in the future I’ll upgrade to another camera model, maybe the R body because my goal is professional photography. With saying this, am I able to just go ahead and get the RF 50mm and RF 70-200mm now and use these on my m50 body or is this not an option with the m50? I’m just trying to be smart with my investments and I’m thinking in the long run if I’ll be able to use these lenses on other camera bodies. I appreciate any advice, thank you! 

3 REPLIES 3

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:

The M50 is a system with a unique lens mount that is unable to accept R-series lenses, so don't waste your money buying RF, or RF-S glass if you are determined to use it.  The M50 is really designed for hybrid vloggers and those who want a very small, light system.  It is an OK camera to learn the basics on, but the M-mount series is obsolescent and has no future as a platform.

If you are serious about investing in RF glass then get an R-series body, ditch the M50 and whatever EF-M lenses you have. 

With no idea of your budget, the low end of the R-series bodies would be something like an R8 which is a full-frame 35mm camera.   RF lenses come in two types, the professional L-series lenses - which are really expensive, and the STM lenses that, while more modest in price and some features, are still very capable and great platforms to learn on and develop your skills.