cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM Causing "Error 01" Message

rosenphoto
Apprentice

So, this is crazy and driving me nuts. I hope someone has an answer for me. 

I'm a wedding photographer.

I have a 5D Mark IV and a 6D Mark II and a range of lenses. 

A month ago, mid wedding, I start to get error 1 messages with my 24-70 2.8L lens. This is series 1 lens. Got that message on both camera, so assumed it was the lens. 

That lens is my workhorse, so I tried to get it repaired. Was told it would cost me $500 and take over a month, so I'd have to rent a lens for that time, which would have run $300, so $800 all together. 

Decided to buy a used lens for $750 instead. 

After a week, that lens also started showing error 1 messages on both my cameras. 

So, returned that lens and got another used lens and as soon as I put it on the camera, got another error 1.

So now I've gotten error 1 messages with three 24-70 2.8L lenses on both of my cameras. All my other lenses work perfectly on both cameras. Just the 24-70 2.8 L is giving me the error. 

So it doesn't seem to be the cameras, it seems to be this series of lens. 

Tried updating the firmware on both cameras, all of a sudden the original lens starts working. But then, after 100 pics or so, it goes back to error 1 again. 

I have four weddings in December, I need to depend on my equipment, but I'm scared to use this lens, and this is my primary lens. I use it for 80% of my images. 

Can't afford $2000 for a new lens. At my wits end here. Is it possible for a series of lenses to become incompatible with all my cameras? That seems improbable? 

What's going on?

I don't know what to do. Can anyone help?

6 REPLIES 6

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority