cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon Rebel T3i better lens for focusing entire shot?

TheColorBug
Apprentice

I have the lens that came with my T3i and while I can take some pretty nice pictures with it, I'm looking to purchase a lens where I can focus the shot in its entirety instead of just a single part of it with the background blurred. Obviously the more affordable the better, but I take excellent care of my property so if it's a bit higher-priced but well worth it, I'm all ears.

My aplogies if there are particular terms for this issue, I'm a newbie with photography!

7 REPLIES 7

ScottyP
Authority

What you seem to be describing is a desire for a large depth of field in focus. Luckily, this is something even cheap lenses can give you.

Depth of field in focus (DOF) is controlled by the size of the opening in the lens (the aperture). Lenses have an adjustable size opening, controlled by aperture blades. A lens that can open up very wide is expensive, and the wide opening gives you a shallow DOF, so your subject will be in focus but the background and foreground will be a blur.  

Any lens, though, even cheap ones, can pinch the opening down to a pinhole size (a small aperture). A small aperture gives you lots of DOF. If you want the most possible stuff in focus in your shot, from the close things all the way to the farthest thing, you want to just set a small aperture.  Oddly a small aperture is a large f/number. Put the camera in AV mode on the top dial. Set the aperture to a high f/number, like f/16 or f/22. Different lenses have different limits on the f/number. 

This, however, runs you into another issue. A tiny opening in the lens gives a lot of DOF but lets very little light in.