cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EF 24-104L pair with a R8 body

bslkam
Apprentice

I am a weekend photographer shooting mainly holiday pictures whether it is landscape, portrait and animal. I am using a 5D Mark 3 with a number of EF lenses such as  EF 24-105 F4L, and 70-200 F4L.  Now i am retired and thinking of selling the 5D and switching to a R8, a lighter full frame camera with the latest technology at lower $$.  I would like to use my existing EF lenses as resell value of these lenses arn't great with more people switching to RF lenses.   I understand these lenses would work with a RF adapter whether it is Canon or third party.  I have a few questions and would like to get advice on the followings:

1.  R8 is a light weight smaller camera, does it feel comfortable shooting when it is mounted with a 24-105 F4 /70-200 F4?  I need to carry it for a long road trip.

2.  I know this is a Canon run forum, but can someone give me a recommendation for a third party RF adapter as I am on a budget. 

3. I read in the forum that the RF 24-240 shoots very good images and is a bargain.  Should i sell all the EF lenses while somone still wants them and buy the RF 24-240.  I do mainly travel photography and a versatile lens would reduce the weight also.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings ,

Happy to hear of your desire to upgrade.  The R8 is a compact and very capable full-frame camera.  It's great for travel.  You will not go wrong pairing it with a RF24-240.  

Your other EF lenses are also very nice, and will compliment the R8 well.