cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are EF lenses worth it?

feng192
Apprentice

Hey all, I have an R7 and I know EF lenses are cheaper than RF lenses. I’m no professional photographer, mostly shoot family outings or some mini trips I take (either for work or on my own). I know for EF lenses to work, I’d have to get the adapter. But what do you think? Are EF lenses worth it for a mirrorless camera?

16 REPLIES 16

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Buying the EF adapter makes the most sense if you already own EF lenses.  Most of the EF lenses are no longer in production.  If you want to buy quality EF lenses, then you might be looking at the used lens market.

Canon has released a variety of consumer lenses for the RF mount.  Most of the will exceed the performance of EF lenses.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I would not buy any new EF/EF-S lens. You have a new R7 and you think it is a good idea to put old tech lenses on your new tech R7? Sometimes cheaper is not the best way to go and in this case it isn't. You really didn't think so did you?

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

amfoto1
Authority