cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aperture Help

matt204
Apprentice

Hello everyone.

I'm new to the dslr world and I have Canon 5d mark ii with a EF 24-105mm 1:4 L IS USM macro ultrasonic lens. On Av I can adjust the aperture from 4 to 22 but it does nothing to blur the background of the subject. When I adjust the apertrue number on the camera I do not see the lens open or close. I have no error codes. And on automatic it takes great photos but I wanted to play with the manual settings and get to know how to use them. Any ideas? Thank you!

12 REPLIES 12

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

The aperture is wide open until you press the shutter regardless of selected F stop so that AF can work properly.  Changing the aperture setting won't change the view through the viewfinder unless you press the depth of field preview button at which point you will see what is in focus at your chosen F stop and if looking through the front of the lens you would also see the aperture blades move when the DoF preview button is pushed.

The standard view you get will always be the minimum depth of field the lens can produce at wide open aperture and pressing the DoF button will let you see the near and far limit focus that will actually be recorded.

With a 100MM lens with a maximum aperture of F4 you will need to be fairly close to a subject for good background blur.  Google depth of field calculator and it will provide a nice presentation of the depth of field at various lens lengths, F stops, and subject distance.  I like the one from site called points in focus.

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

I used my favorite one and calculated:

for F/4 (which is not a very small F number)

and 50 mm focal length

and 3m subject distance

the range in focus is 2.6 to 3.6 m, or about 1 m

You would need the background to be much farther away to get good blur.