cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My EOS 5D Mark IV keeps shutting off when tethering with EOS Canon utility software

vector224
Contributor

Hello, I am a product photographer and I use tethering all the time to shoot products I use I EOS utility software that comes from Canon in order to use tethering. However, I'm having a really annoying problem with my camera. The software keeps shutting off by itself while shooting for no reason at all and I cannot estimate the time when the software decides to shut off by itself!

In addition, sometimes my camera completely shut off while I am tethering not only EOS utility software, I am afraid that my expensive camera has an issue! My camera is a Canon 5D mark 4. I'm running my camera using an AC power adapter from a third party however I tried to use the original Canon battery that comes with the camera and the problem is still there so I guess the AC power adapter has nothing to do with it. Do you think the issue is from the EOS utility software or my camera? Please guys help me solve this issue, it's supper annoying.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

vector224
Contributor

I finally solved the issue! It turned out that the problem was because the USB port in my PC was not supplying the USB cable with enough power to run my camera ( Which most PC does by the way, especially for long cables)  that's why it keeps disconnecting, I solved the issue by buying an active USB 3.0 cable from Amazon, and I bought this exact cable and my issue has been fixed:
https://www.amazon.sa/-/en/dp/B07Q9Y1Y9Q?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

I hope this helps anyone who is looking for a solution to this issue because it is extremely annoying and frustrating. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

What type of computer and OS are you running?  Are you using the EOS Utility for tethering?

Am I correct to assume that you are only shooting stills, not video?