cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error starting CameraWindow

LyleW
Contributor

a little background. I am a retired application programmer with 35 years experience. I am pretty comfortable with computers. I am also a long, long time Nikon user. I just replaced my D5000  with a used Powershot ELPH 360 HS. Yes, I know it is an older camera. I liked the price and features. One of which was the ability (or so I thought) of using Wi-Fi to transfer pictures to my compjuter. 

The computer is an HP 64bit running Windows 10. Plenty of memory. 

The router is a Netgear router and we are running on the cable companies network.

The camera recognizes the network and connects to it with no problem. 

I actually read the pages in the manual - i know. When I was done installing the camera's software from the Canon site, I tried to open Camera Window and I get the seemingly well known error,  "Cannot detect Camera. . . "

I know this isn't the newest and greatest software from Canon. The date stamp indicates it is more than a few years old. I have looked for updated versions, new drivers, etc. to no avail. 

What can we do?

Now, the camera connects to the network and finds my computer. It will not complete the connection and will give  you a connection failed error. 

By the way, I am about as old as this camea (in dog years anyway) and would appreciate any help that can be given. 

Lyle.

9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

How were able to install CameraWindow on a Windows 10 PC.

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/explore/solutions-services/mobile-apps/camerawindo... 

It is a mobile app.

DB2AB7D9-4287-4622-8112-6F7F31D59874.jpeg

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Computer technology has advanced fairly rapidly over the last decade.  Here is the Support Page for your camera.  I am not certain if the software can run on Windows 10.