Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-31-2021

Remove access point - MF 726

How do I remove an access point I had previeously entered? I don't see an option to remove/delete/forget.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,530
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Remove access point - MF 726

[ Edited ]

Greetings,

For clarification, are you trying to turn off Wi-Fi Direct or connect the printer to a differnet Wi-Fi broadcast?

 

So you understand what I'm asking:

 

Wi-Fi Direct > wireess devices connect directly to the printer, no router or access point is needed.

 

Different Wi-Fi broadcast > you are connecting the printer a new wireless network or network whose broadcast name or password has changed. 

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2(v1.1.0) ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100 ~ImageClass MF644Cdw ~LBP622dw
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-31-2021

Re: Remove access point - MF 726

I have another access point running in the house that I don't want the printer to accidently connect to since I have set up a dedicated access point for the printer. That was all brought on by the installation of a tri-band rounter which outsmarts itself by automatically moving devices to bands with the most bandwidth not knowing that my printer can only connect to 2.4. This access point workaround did the trick.

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,530
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Remove access point - MF 726

Greetings,

Thats helpful info.

 

The following should help with SSID and/or password update - Wireless Help.  The printer only holds connection information for 1 network.  

 

Support | Color Laser | Color imageCLASS MF726Cdw | Canon USA

 

Other option:

Router

"SMART Connect" or similar feature (one SSID name for all broadcasts) can cause these type of issues.  Depending on the router brand/model, its usually possible to give each broadcast a unique name which will resolve (or ensure) the printer only connects with the 2.4Ghz broadcast.  This will eliminate the need for an extender as long as the printer is within range of the unique 2.4Ghz broadcast. 

 

See below for my Tri-Band Config

 

Broadcasts.png

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2(v1.1.0) ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100 ~ImageClass MF644Cdw ~LBP622dw
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-31-2021

Re: Remove access point - MF 726

Thanks Rick. I'm running a tri-band Nighthawk X8 which works great, just not with my printer. In smart connect mode the 204 was not visible to the printer. I'll do some digging to see if I can do what you suggest with this router as it would be nice to eliminate the extender.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement