cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

which flash for my 6D?

paulold
Apprentice

I just bought a EOS 6D and I want to get a flash. I've been a bit out of touch with photography for many years and I finally decided on a camera. Now I need some help with which flash to get. Any recommendations for my camera? I'm not a professional photographer - I am getting back into doing artwork. So I don't need to buy the best of the best, but I do think I should get a Canon Speedlite. I think I would mainly use the flash for indoor shots, portraits, shots of my friends, maybe some action shots of volleyball in darker gyms. But I'm not a big fan of images made with flash. I do recall bouncing the flash off of the ceiling in the past to get a better light/image quality, so I would probably take the same approach. Which flash would be a decent purchase? Just for reference, my last camera was a Canon A-1, which I bought back in 1984... : )

14 REPLIES 14

ScottyP
Authority
Hard to beat the Canon 430ex for $259 right now. If you are not going to get too terribly serious it would be an ideal choice. The new 600 is over twice as much and requires extra equipment to bring out its wireless features.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

Hi Scott, Can you please talk more about:

"...and requires extra equipment to bring out its wireless features. "

Would appreciate if you could elaborate more on the extra equipment in context of the wireless features.

Thanks in advance,

Vatsala