cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

which flash for my 6D?

paulold
Apprentice

I just bought a EOS 6D and I want to get a flash. I've been a bit out of touch with photography for many years and I finally decided on a camera. Now I need some help with which flash to get. Any recommendations for my camera? I'm not a professional photographer - I am getting back into doing artwork. So I don't need to buy the best of the best, but I do think I should get a Canon Speedlite. I think I would mainly use the flash for indoor shots, portraits, shots of my friends, maybe some action shots of volleyball in darker gyms. But I'm not a big fan of images made with flash. I do recall bouncing the flash off of the ceiling in the past to get a better light/image quality, so I would probably take the same approach. Which flash would be a decent purchase? Just for reference, my last camera was a Canon A-1, which I bought back in 1984... : )

14 REPLIES 14

diverhank
Authority

The latest Canon flash is the 600EX RT which can be remote controlled by either optical or radio frequency.  The only drawback is that it's expensive.  Its predecessor, the 580EXII is the one that I'd recommend for something like the 6D.  Since many upgraded to the 600, the 580 can be purchased second-hand at very reasonable price ($300-$350).  The only thing it doesn't have is the radio frequency, other than that it is top of the line, professional grade.  The one below that is the 430EXII flash.