Brian205
Contributor

Which Speedlite for my Canon 600d

I am new to Photography

I am choosing between

a) Bower SDF680C Digital Flash for Canon SLR Cameras, Guide Number 139

http://www.adorama.com/BOWSFD680C.html

or

b) Bower SFD926C Dedicated Digital Flash for Canon SLR Cameras, Guide Number 125

http://www.adorama.com/BOWSFD926C.html

I want a Wireless Speedlite,

btw how does these Speedlites do the Wireless Connection with the 600d if they can ?

Does both use Slave Function, does both have Wireless Channel Selection.

Does My camera the 600d have Wireless Channel Selection by Radio Signal I know my camera has Slave Function Pls Help pls

7 REPLIES 7

ScottyP
Authority
Hi Brian.

Your camera does not produce radio signals and neither of these flashes works off of them.

One of the two has "slave mode" but the other doesn't that I can see. The built-in flash on your camera can act as a "master" and will trigger the slave set up off camera. This works as long as the slave can see the flash from the camera but it is not as good as radio wireless for this reason.

The recycle times on these flashes are a bit slow. Check out the Canon 430 EXii flash. It recycles faster and will be more rugged.

If you want radio flashes you can get Canon 600's but they are a bit more expensive. And you need 2 or more of them, or 1 plus a radio transmitter, to actually use the radio triggering. Or look at Yongnuo radio flashes for quite cheap. They are Chinese and people have different opinions on them but Bower are 3rd party too and the Yongnuo would be at least as good but with better features.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend