cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Softening the light from a 580EXII

Jchafitz
Enthusiast

Posted a while ago about my flash inexplicably jumping from ETTL to TTL in the middle of a shoot.  After many fine comments and suggestions, we seemed to narrow it down to the weight of a Gary Fong Lightsphere messing with the contact between camera shoe & flash foot.  Looks like, as much as I like what it does, I will be retiring the Lightsphere.  Here's the question...  Looking for recommendations, store-bought or home-brew for what people are using as diffusion for their flashes.  I am an advanced amateur who likes event photography; parties, the occasional wedding, business meetings etc.  Sometimes I even make a buck when I do it!  I’ve used Luma-Quest bouncers & soft boxes, both hard & inflatable over the years.  Looking forward to your responses.  Thanks in advance…

6 REPLIES 6

hsbn
Whiz

Check this blog out: http://neilvn.com/tangents/index/flash-photography/and check the bounce flash section. He's really good with that.

For most indoor event, you can use bounce flash. If use effectively, it's really good. I never like the Lightsphere. It's just not soft enough. I'm alternating between bounce flash and softbox for wedding. I have assistance so using softbox is not a big problem but most of the time I stick with bounce flash.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

I could lose a weekend reading this guy!  Thanks for the link.